What's Happening

Menu × Close

Breadcrumb Navigation

Events Small_rss_icon


Return to Events

Sun nov 12
4:00 pm

Carnegie Mellon University Wind Ensemble

Carnegie Music Hall, Oakland
4400 Forbes Ave Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15213

George Vosburgh & Thomas Thompson, Co-Directors
Stephen Story, Associate Director

The Carnegie Mellon Wind Ensemble presents a diverse program that evokes the music of Scotland and the sound of bagpipes with Malcom Arnold’s Four Scottish Dances, delights in the classical mastery of Richard Strauss’ Suite in B-Flat, Op 4. and closes with David Maslanka’s Symphony No. 5 composed around well-known chorale melodies about which he said “but for all its blunt and assertive force, the Symphony is not tragic. It is filled with bright and hopeful energy.”

Malcolm Arnold/Paynter:
Four Scottish Dances
Richard Strauss: Suite in Bb, Op. 4
David Maslanka: Symphony #5

Cost: Free and open to the public, but a ticket is required. Please register using the below button.

About the Ensemble
The Carnegie Mellon Wind Ensemble utilizes a flexible instrumentation of winds, brass, and percussion to perform repertoire from standard concert band works to contemporary compositions of various instrumental combinations.